Adelaide City Council’s customer service team has been awarded the 2011 South Australian Contact Centre of the Year (<50 People) at the ATA State Awards.


Sean McNamara, Corporate Manager of Council’s Customer Experience Program, said it was a great achievement.


“Our Customer Service Centre staff are of an exceptionally high standard and deserve to be recognised for their continued hard work and commitment,” Sean said.


“The award process is also a good opportunity to self-reflect and compare ourselves to our peers.”


Sean also walked away with the South Australian Contact Centre Manager of the Year and Debra Shuttleworth, Team Leader Customer Centre, was awarded the South Australian Contact Centre Team Leader of the Year.


Karen Harvey, Customer Service Representative and Chris Convery, Co-ordinator for Operations were also recognised as State Finalists for Teleprofessional of the Year and Call Centre Champion of the Year respectively.


The judging process involved a written submission for each category, a telephone interview for individual award nominees and a site tour and presentation.


The team will now progress to the National Awards which will be held in Sydney on 23 September 2011.