Local government leaders, innovators and achievers have been celebrated at the annual LGPro Awards dinner in Melbourne last week, with State Minister for Local Government Jeanette Powell commending the largest pool of nominations ever fielded in the awards.

The large number of award nominations shows that the sector is keen to share its knowledge and success,” Mrs Powell said.

“Similarly, the Victorian Coalition Government is always looking for new ways to build the capacity of the sector and the individuals working within it.

“We want to ensure local government can grow and thrive in sustainable and appropriate ways.”

Attending the presentation ceremony on behalf of Mrs Powell, Parliamentary Secretary for Local Government David Morris said the awards acknowledged innovation, achievement and excellence in the provision of services to ratepayers.

“From a mix of metropolitan and regional councils, the winners of the eight LGPro Awards for Excellence represent the best of local government in Victoria,” Mr Morris said.

“I acknowledge all 126 award nominees, and congratulate the winners of tonight’s awards for their fine achievement and their efforts on behalf of the community.”

Mrs Powell said the award categories included young achiever, community assets and infrastructure, service delivery, innovation and sustainability.