Nominations are now open for this year’s NSW local government awards.

Among the accolades this year is the AR Bluett Memorial Award – widely acknowledged as the greatest accolade a council can achieve.

The prize commemorates Alfred Robert Bluett, who served 30 years as the secretary and solicitor to the Local Government and Shires Association of NSW.

As an authority on local government law, Mr Bluett was instrumental in drafting the state’s first Local Government Act in 1919.

Presented annually since 1945, the LGNSW awards recognise relative progress by Local Government NSW member councils.

“I encourage every council in NSW to seize the opportunity to enter this year’s awards and gain recognition for the great work they are doing,” AR Bluett Trust Chairman Les McMahon said.

“Too often, the overall achievements of local government go unrecognised, which can lead to unfair criticism of the sector – the AR Bluett Awards go a long way towards rectifying this.”

LGNSW President Cr Linda Scott said councils are the bedrock of local communities and it is important to celebrate their dedication.

“I have the great privilege of seeing first-hand the diversity and quality of work being achieved by local government when I visit councils across the state,” Cr Scott said.

“Councils make things happen in their communities – and we want to hear more about them so councils can follow in the footsteps of 2018 award winners Fairfield and Narrabri Shire, and the highly commended City of Canterbury Bankstown.”

More information is accessible here.