Eighteen local government councils have been awarded funding under the Federal Government’s $20 million Liveable Cities program, which aims to help make Australia's 18 major cities more productive, sustainable and liveable.


The largest grants of $3,750,000 each were awarded to the City of Parramatta and the City of Sydney. 


The City of  Parramatta will build a separate cycling and walking link between the University of Western Sydney, housing developments in the area and key employment precincts of the Parramatta city centre. 


Funds allocated to the City of Sydney will contribute to the Green Square Town Centre Trigeneration, Australia's first large scale low carbon trigeneration energy network that will reduce greenhouse gas emissions by around 40,000 tonnes a year and help the City of Sydney reach its target of a 70 percent reduction in emissions by 2030.


Other councils which were awarded funding include the Melton Shire Council, the Wyndham City Council, Logan City Council, City of Cockburn, City of Melville, Campbelltown City Council, City of Port Adelaide, Maitland City Council, Sunshine Coast Regional Council, Hobart City Council, Kingborough Council, Townsville City Council, Darwin City Council, Launceston City Council, Albury City Council and Whittlesea City Council.


Seven further awards were made to state government agencies.


The funding will be used for a range of urban planning projects, infrastructure projects, civic facilities and public transport  improvements.


More information about the program is here.