The Queensland State Government has announced the launch of the Queensland Regionalisation Strategy aimed at controlling growth in the state’s regional areas in the face of increasing regional population growth.


“Our vision builds on the traditional strengths of each region and encourages people and businesses to consider the advantages of other regions outside the heavily populated south-east,” Queensland Premier Anna Bligh said.


“By 2031 another 2.5 million people are expected to call Queensland home, from 4.5 million to 7 million, and the average age of the population will continue to rise.


“We can’t stop population growth but, in consultation with the community, we can manage it in a controlled way so all Queenslanders benefit.”


“The Queensland Regionalisation Strategy seeks to ease growing pains and strengthen prosperity by promoting and improving the economic links within and across our regional cities and towns.


“The strategy details 31 proposed actions to sustain long-term growth, encourage workers to the regions, support new business investment and improve partnerships between governments.”


These include an integrated Queensland freight strategy; new energy opportunities; more local skills training aimed at regional needs; better regional relocation opportunities; jobs for Indigenous peoples; suitable industrial land; a single coordination point in government to support investment; and development of a regular map of significant growth areas.


The Queensland Regionalisation Strategy is underpinned by the Queensland Infrastructure Plan just as the South East Queensland Regional Plan is underpinned by the award winning South East Queensland Infrastructure Plan and Program.


Ms Bligh said the Queensland Regionalisation Strategy breaks the state into seven regions:


  • South East Queensland
  • Darling Downs South West
  • Wide Bay Burnett
  • Central Queensland
  • Mackay Isaac and Whitsunday
  • North Queensland
  • Far North Queensland.


It also links those regions with six distinct economic zones:


  • agriculture
  • minerals corridors
  • coal and energy corridor
  • gas corridor
  • tourism corridor
  • tropical expertise