The Victorian State Government has passed legislation which prohibits the construction of new wind turbines within certain proximity to dwellings and regional centres.


Victorian Planning Minister Matthew Guy announced the Government had passed  Amendment VC82, which reforms the way wind farms can be approved and prohibits a wind turbine being constructed within two kilometres of an existing dwelling unless there is written consent from the owner of the dwelling.


The amendment also outlines no-go zones for wind farms. All national and state parks will be no-go zones for wind farms, as well as the Yarra Valley, Dandenong Ranges, Mornington Peninsula, Bellarine Peninsula, Great Ocean Road region, the Macedon and McHarg Ranges, and the Bass Coast.


The legislation also prohibits wind farms from being within five kilometres of regional growth areas, as specified in the Regional Victoria Settlement Framework.