The Western Australian Local Government Association (WALGA) has held its annual WA Local Government Convention, in which a number of councillors received accolades for their strong leadership and their contribution to local communities.


Mayor David Boothman from the City of Stirling; Cr Paul Kelly, Deputy Mayor of the Town of Claremont and Cr Peter Monagle, President of the Shire of Harvey were awarded Life Membership in recognition of their contributions to the Local Government sector and their local communities over half a century of collective service.

A further 50 Local Government Members were honoured with an Eminent Service Award, Long and Loyal Service Award, or Local Government Merit Award.


WALGA President, Mayor Troy Pickard said the annual Local Government Honours Awards recognised community representatives for their willingness to go above and beyond the call of duty in making their communities a better place for everyone.


The full list of recipients of the convention’s awards can be fond here