Ten WA local governments in the Goldfields-Esperance region  have signed up to the State Government’s local government reform program.


The shires of Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Laverton, Leonora, Dundas, Coolgardie, Esperance, Menzies, Ngaanyatjarraku, Ravensthorpe and Wiluna have signed an agreement formalising the formation of a Regional Collaborative Group.


It is the largest regional group formed through the reform process, covering a total area of over 900,000km and a combined population of more than 57,000.


The local governments will now develop a Regional Business Plan to look at various services and facilities delivered to residents and to identify how a regional approach may benefit all concerned.


The wider aim is to improve strategic planning, asset management and financial management of participating councils.