The Victorian Government has announced the formation of a new Ministerial Advisory Committee on Waste and Resource Recovery Governance, which will be tasked with reviewing the State’s current waste management arrangements.

The Cairns Regional Council has announced it has voted to cease all fluoridation of its water supplies, supporting a policy established by the Local Government Association of Queensland (LGAQ).

The Federal Government has welcomed the release of an interim report on a referendum on the recognition of local government in the Australian Constitution.

The Municipal Association of Victoria (MAV) has announced the President and Board elections will be held on Friday 1 March 2013.

Queensland Water Minister Mark McArdle has started a regional tour of south east Queensland councils to cover electricity and water supply issues facing the state’s regional councils.

Swan Hill Rural City Council is recruiting a Chief Executive Officer following the resignation of Dennis Hovenden.

 The Victorian Minister for Local Government Jeanette Powell has encouraged Victoria’s newly-elected Mayors and Councillors to embrace the Victorian Government’s plans to improve Councils’ transparency and accountability.

The Victorian Government is introducing guidelines on the use of Councils' differential rating powers.

Dr Ken King has been appointed chief executive officer to the Pilbara Development Commission.

Researchers at the ARC Centre of Excellence for Environmental Decisions (CEED) have warned that as sea levels climb, Australia's coastal wetlands will be increasingly trapped between urban development on land and the rising ocean, imperilling the survival of their unique plants, birds and fish.

The Queensland Government has set March 9 as the date for the de-amalgamation vote for the former Noosa, Livingstone, Mareeba and Douglas Shire Council areas.

Archived News

RSS More »